All on a Sleepy Night, PiBoldMo, PPBF

All on a Sleepy Night
written by Shutta Crum, illustrations by Sylvie Daigneault
Stoddart Kids, 2001, Fiction
Suitable for: Ages 4-8
Themes/Topics:Sound words, Onomatopoeia, Rhyme, Sleep, Bedtime.
Opening and brief synopsis:
In a little log house, On a great green hill, under a shimmering sky; One small boy, On his grandparents’ bed, Whispers “goodnight” with a sigh.

    Synopsis: While one small boy, on his grandparents’ bed, Sits rubbing his heavy eyes: The house about him is singing – Singing its sleepy song.

Links to resources: Activities with sounds, Fun and relaxing bedtime games

This is a very cute picture book with rhyme that you hardly notice (like it should be!) and such a wonderful idea that gives the illustrator a great time illustrating this interesting book.

Pop on over to Susanna Hill’s blog for more Perfect Picture Book Friday posts.

As PiBoldMo comes to an end, I would like to say a huge thank you to Tara for all her hard work and inspirational blog posts. This has been fantastic, and I have collected lots of fun ideas to work on over the next year. I especially can’t wait to work on the international ones. Picture Books rock!

28 thoughts on “All on a Sleepy Night, PiBoldMo, PPBF

  1. I love the cover. My kids are discovering picture books on my husband’s tablet. They LOVE it. I never thought a child would enjoy reading on a machine, but I guest that will be the next generation. I’ll have to see if I can get this for his tablet.

  2. I feel the same as many others who have replied- the cover makes me want to go get this book, like now! The style is whimsical and warm. Makes you want to jump into the book! Didn’t Shutta Crum guest blog for PiBoIdMo? This one looks like a winner for my little ones. Thanks, Catherine! :-)

  3. Wow! Thanks to all of you for such lovely comments about my book ALL ON A SLEEPY NIGHT. The cover, and the artwork within, are truly beautiful. Sylvie Daignault is extremely talented. What you might not be able to tell by simply seeing the cover is that her medium here is colored pencil!! Now, if you were like me, you probably used lots of colored pencils when you were young–but never did I think what could happen with them in the hands of an artist!

    If you are interested in more of my books, please stop by my website (or subscribe to it) at: http://shutta.com .

    Cheers, to all! S.

    • Hi Shutta, Thank you so much for your comment, I’m sure everyone will love to check out more of your books now. I know I can’t wait to see more. I should have mentioned coloured pencils, the artwork is wonderful.
      Best,
      Catherine

  4. I am absolutely going to look up this book. It looks wonderful! Thanks for sharing! And I’m glad to see the snow on your blog–I forgot about that feature and am excited it’s back this year…I’ll definitely be adding that, too. :)

Leave a Reply

