Release day giveaway for Unending Devotion and Mary Kom

Happy Release Day Unending Devotion!

Loved it, loved it, loved it!

Here’s a description from amazon:
‘In 1883 Michigan, Lily Young is on a mission to save her lost sister, or die trying. Heedless of the danger, her searches of logging camps lead her to Harrison and into the sights of Connell McCormick, a man doing his best to add to the hard-earned fortunes of his lumber baron father.

Posing during the day as a photographer’s assistant, Lily can’t understand why any God-fearing citizen would allow evil to persist and why men like Connell McCormick turn a blind eye to the crime rampant in the town. But Connell is boss-man of three of his father’s lumber camps in the area, and like most of the other men, he’s interested in clearing the pine and earning a profit. He figures as long as he’s living an upright life, that’s what matters.

Lily challenges everything he thought he knew, and together they work not only to save her sister but to put an end to the corruption that’s dominated Harrison for so long.’

All Jody’s heroines are super strong so today I am highlighting another strong lady. You may have seen her at the Olympics:

Boxer: Mary Kom

UNENDING DEVOTION TO MARY KOM

While I was in England my sister visited and tossed me a copy of The Economist. She made me read a fascinating article about Mary, knowing with my success in Tae Kwon-Do I’d be interested. I sure was.

Being a female athlete in India is no easy feat and Mary has achieved what no other Indian lady has achieved before her. She is the first woman boxer from India to have won five World titles consecutively.

Her regime is strict and her family are very supportive. She also gives back by training young boxers each morning.

Interestingly, Mary Kom beat a Canadian at the Olympics who lives down the road from me in Windsor and an English girl beat Mary Kom in the semi-final. Unfortunately I missed Mary’s bouts. Did any of you see one?

Read more about Mary Kom here. See her in action:

COMMENT ON THIS POST TO BE IN WITH A CHANCE OF WINNING YOUR OWN COPY OF UNENDING DEVOTION
I’ll let you know the winner in a week’s time, so don’t miss out! And please spread the word.

p.s. It’s a long weekend here so I’ll leave this up and skip Metaphor Monday. It’s my last week at home with my youngest before she goes to school full time.

39 thoughts on “Release day giveaway for Unending Devotion and Mary Kom

  1. Unending devotion sounds like a fascinating book. And thanks for featuring Mary Kom and her remarkable accomplishments as a boxer.

  2. Hi Catherine! Thank you for the shout out on my book!! I love that you combined the post with a tribute to a real-life strong woman! I always find it so fascinating to learn more about the regimes of successful athletes. We can learn so much from them, can’t we?! :-)

  3. I have been wanting to read this series. Didn’t realize it was YA, for some reason. This one appeals to me, because I just finished Michelle Isenoff’s MG novel “Beneath the Slashings” about a father taking his children to the lumber camps of Michigan following the Civil War. It was part of a trilogy. I know I would like this series, from your reviews. Nice that you included the female athlete from India along with this. Enjoyed the video.

  4. This sounds like a very interesting read. Haven’t been reading much of late over PB size so it would be a nice change to have a chance to win this. Thanks Catherine, and nice to see you back.

  5. I couldn’t resist wish-listing Unending Devotion. While it’s not the type of book I normally read, lately I’ve been making more of an effort to read more outside my usual genres with the idea that doing so would help me become a better writer. It also sounds like a good book in its own right, and I always enjoy stories with strong female characters. Great job tying the book together with the story of a real-life strong woman :)

  6. Thanks for sharing a great book from Jody and Mary’s story. Hope you have a great long weekend. I wish the best on your little one’s first day. At some schools here, they have a boo hoo breakfast so the parents can compose themselves before leaving school. :) Good luck to you both.

  7. I finally read one of Jody’s books a couple of weeks ago… She’s a fantastic author. I’m looking forward to reading more of her books.
    Xx

    • And you must read The Doctor’s Lady too. No book of Jody’s should be left unread whether it’s by e-book or paper. That’s my new craft of writing law or something ;) And yes incredibly exciting! Thanks Elyssa.

    • Not late at all, Jaime. I know you love Jody’s books. I would have put you in anyway. Authors often blog to ask if readers want to be a promoter. I don’t think that’s the same as those writers who are always getting free arcs. Keep your eyes open. Susanna Hill is always doing giveaways. I’ll ask her how she does it if you like.

Leave a Reply

