Red Sings from Treetops

by Catherine Johnson, @CatherinePoet

I’m singing from the treetops too because this has been an awesome week. Last week I finished 12×12 and this week I got great feedback on my Bumgracious pitch and got three new critique partners. Old manuscripts are feeling like bright shiny new ones. So feel the love and get polishing those pbs!

Susanna Hill started Perfect Picture Book Fridays and has the full wonderful collection on her blog. It is a rich resource for librarians, teachers and picture book writers and readers. Check it out here.

 

 

 

Red Sings from Treetops written by Joyce Sidman and illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski.

Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, 2009, Poetry

Suitable for: Grade 1 upwards (at a guess)

Themes/Topics: Seasons, colours, attributes of the seasons.

Opening/Synopsis:

Spring

In Spring,

Red sings

from treetops:

cheer-cheer-cheer,

each note dropping

like a cherry

into my ear.

Synopsis: (from Joyce Sidman’s website)

Color comes to life in this whimsical, vibrant book.  Pink hides, Green floats, Yellow and Purple hold hands, and Red . . . well, you’ll just have to see.  Follow the white pup as he explores the sight, smells, and sounds of color within each season. 

Activities:
This BBC website has a bucketload of activities for teaching children about seasons and colour.

Okay I cheated a bit, this is really a poetry book ssh! don’t tell. Isn’t it beautiful though and the illustrations are so interesting, it would hold a child’s attention in the same way as a picture book :)

Don’t forget it’s Poetry Friday today too! Have a great weekend.

21 thoughts on “Red Sings from Treetops

  1. Cool to have poetry books for children! I wrote my first poem at the age of nine. Recently, I had the privilege to be one of 18 Arkansas authors at a book fair. An eleven year old girl and her father stopped by my table. On my table, along with my novel, were my children’s book and a poetry chapbook. The young girl wanted my poetry book. Her father bought it for her but he suggested she get the children’s book. She said, “But I like poetry!” Her father appeared not to know that until that moment.

Leave a Reply

