Polar Bear Poem

by Catherine Johnson, @CatherinePoet

Inspired by Freeda’s lovely poem using the Lil-Ann pattern.

Behold the giant furry polar bear
off diving, stretching, playing without a care.
He batted plastic box and used his teeth
oblivious to all the prying eyes
with flashing cameras, oohs and awhs beneath.
When we go home I wonder if he flies;
off diving, stretching, playing without a care.
Behold the giant furry polar bear.

Catherine Johnson, 2012.

And here is a much better one by the lovely Cathy Ballou Mealey.

21 thoughts on “Polar Bear Poem

    • Teresa, You wouldn’t believe how crazy it was from line one to the finish of this poem. We got spontaneously invited out so I had to prepare some food, my husband cut his finger so I had to bandage him up and a neighbour called me over to give the kids some things, since they are moving. I actually finished it in the car on the way to my friend’s house. A crazy hour or what?

Leave a Reply

