The Monstore

The Monstore - Tara Lazar

It’s here! The Monstore by the lovely and talented Tara Lazar and wonderful illustrations from James Burks.
Aladdin, June 2013, Fiction
Suitable for: 4-7
Themes/Topics: Monsters, kids, scaring, cleaning, monster shop

Opening: (inside cover)
At the back of Frankensweet’s Candy Shoppe, under the last box of sour gum balls, there’s a trapdoor.

Knock fives times fast, hand over a bag of squirmy worms, and you can crawl inside… THE MONSTORE.

The Monstore sells only the most useful monsters – perfect for all your monsterly needs. And Zack has a big monsterly need indeed: to frighten his pesky little sister away. No more sneaky sister snooping, sleepwalking, or snatching his stuff! But Zack’s monsters don’t quite work to plan. And the only rule of the Monstore?
No refunds. Debut author Tara Lazar, with silly, spooky illustrations from James Burks, shows that perhaps it’s the little things in life that are the scariest of them all.

Activities: really cute rock monsters craft, make these boogie monsters using pipe cleaners, mini monster cupcakes, more monster crafts.

Matthew grabbed this off me as soon I finished reading. Both my fussy readers adore it already. The alliteration is wonderful, the vocab in general is wonderful. I don’t need to tell you the illos are wonderful and the plot etc, wow! Great example of a classic picture book, Tara!

Uncategorized

25 thoughts on “The Monstore

  1. I can’t wait to read this, Catherine – I thought my review copy would have arrived before this and now you’ve beaten me to it for PPBF :) Great review and activities, and congrats to Tara – so exciting that the book is here at last after such a long wait! :)

  2. The college bound were there but most of my 11th graders were 2-5 years below reading level. I always wanted to author a book with 3-4 page reads for these stanine 1 and 2 underachievers of famous history personalities but never got started. By age 15 I had pretty much read all of Edgar Rice Burroughs, H G Wells, Arthur Conan Doyle and James Fennimore Cooper. By age 18 I had read at least 75% of the entire World Book Encyclopedia. I have never regretted it and still love to read. The problem is that now at my age I doze off to sleep after two or three pages and takes six months to finish a novel.

Leave a Reply

